How to prepare for a job as a Mechanical Engineer at a BioTech startup? Meet Garry Valadez!

OmniVis
3 min readFeb 22, 2021

--

Please tell us a little bit about yourself.

I was born and raised in Sacramento, CA, and have come to love that city. Recently, I graduated from San Diego State University with a BS in Mechanical Engineering with an emphasis in Bioengineering. Aside from school, I love all things sports! I played soccer growing up but love to camp and backpack as well.

How did studying mechanical engineering prepare you for a career in the biotech industry?

Fortunately, San Diego State offered a new Mechanical Engineering program with an emphasis in Bioengineering. This allowed me to take several biology and physiology lectures and labs. Having this familiarity with biological systems is why I felt prepared for a career in the biotech industry. I also was fortunate enough to participate in an internship with a medical device startup where I learned more about the diversity that the biotech industry brings.

How did you first hear about OmniVis and why did you want to join the team?

I came across OmniVis’s website as I was looking for medical device jobs and was instantly moved by their desire to make a global impact. It’s not often one gets the opportunity to work on a device that can help people around the globe. Aside from this, the device itself seemed ingenious — utilizing microfluidics and mechanical systems in one incredibly simple yet complex device nearly the size of your palm. This sounded incredibly interesting yet challenging to me and a great way to continue learning.

What does your day-to-day look like? What are your key responsibilities for OmniVis?

My day-to-day involves lots of SolidWorks CAD modeling and analyzing as well prototype manufacturing and testing. I am responsible for the continued development of the mechanical hardware within the device as well as quality assurance in maintaining OmniVis’s quality management system (QMS).

What has been your favorite project you have been working on and why?

My favorite project has been re-designing some of the internal components of our device to be cheaper and more manufacturable for injection molding. This has pushed me to think more outside the box to achieve the same function with a different fit or shape. It has also deepened my understanding of designing for injection molding.

Is there anything unexpected you’ve learned while working in the Biotech industry?

I’ve learned that every possible error or mistake that could occur in the field needs to be considered in the design process. You must keep asking yourself “What if…”.

What would you recommend for anyone studying ME?

I would recommend to anyone studying ME that they challenge themselves with some biology or physiology courses during their time at school. Even if one pursues a career in the defense/automotive industry, I believe it is still a good idea to have some understanding of biology. You never know when that knowledge may come in handy.

Is there anything else you would like the readers to know?

I am incredibly honored and humbled to be a part of the OmniVis team. I feel surrounded by some of the brightest minds I will ever come across. As a first-generation college graduate and son of immigrants, I still can’t believe I am able to do this for a living. I will continue to work hard and learn as much as I possibly can. There will be no shortage of that here at OmniVis.

Fun Fact About Yourself!

As I mentioned earlier, I love to camp/backpack. When I was 8 years old, I actually backpacked the Grand Canyon, hiking to the bottom and back.

--

--

OmniVis

👉 The power of the lab in the palm of your hand. | Devices to detect dangerous food borne pathogens. | Rapid. Precise. Mobile.